The Mass Exodus From Illinois Has Begun…

Highway outa Hell…

Every Illinoisan owes $11,000 for pensions with no fix in sight.

While the article below is a little dated, it still gives good perspective on this issue. Given the article was written in 2016, I have updated my information through 2019. The Tribune article takes you back to 2010 and brings you forward as to the exodus, tax implications, pension debacle, demographics of who’s moving, and of all the things the impact of red light cameras. So I recommend reading the entire article.

UPDATE

Go to website: https://www.illinoispolicy.org/illinois-saw-nations-worst-population-loss-during-the-decade/.

Read the following article it takes you back to 2010 and looks at the net loss. It actually was greater loss pre-2014.
This part of article is inconsistent with Census graph above. And has a glaring typographical error. If you’ll notice in the highlighted area it references 2015 twice when it should have referenced 2014 then 2015. Either way, the only way I can explain the 100,000 exodus in 2015 with the graph above showing 25,000 is that one is “gross” exodus and the other is “net” exodus. In other words when you subtract the new babies and new residents from the number of people that are leaving it nets out to only 25,000 total loss in population even though 100,000 people left the State. That would mean 75,000 new residents and babies arrived in Illinois to offset the 100,000 that left.
The loss of people over the last 20 years amounts to $50 billion in lost taxable income per year or about $8 billion a year in lost taxes. Enough money to balance the budget sadly enough.

Just Another Example of Illinois’ Confiscatory Practices – Red Light Cameras

Sadly when you apply “generally accepted accounting practices” GAAP to the State of Illinois’ budget it is to put it bluntly “bankrupt”. And you can apply GAAP to Chicago, and many other municipalities and they too are bankrupt.

That being said, long about 2008, a friend of mine representing a “Red Light Camera” company used his expansive network of friends, relations and neighbors… many of whom were politicians to entice local government into buying hundreds of these cameras for so-called “safety” reasons. The cameras would act as a watchdog when police couldn’t be around. Using what seemed at the time to be space-age electronics, the cameras would snap a picture of your license plate if you went through a stale yellow or maybe strolled through a right on red intersection. With that picture your plates would be looked up and you got a nice little $100 fine in the mail. It should be noted the fine doubling to $200 in 30 days. The politicians pitched it as a safety measure. If you violated the law and got a ticket maybe next time you would pay more attention. It was supposed to reduce accidents too… not just tickets as one would expect. Bottom-line, these red light cameras were a bonanza. And in a cash poor state like Illinois, they were being put up everywhere… I mean everywhere. My friend the camera man, was making a small fortune because his company and he took a percentage of proceeds rather than a flat fee. With all the money rolling in every politician was smiling from ear to ear as their budgets were balancing.

But it wasn’t long before the public became sick and tired of getting fines everywhere they went and a public outcry could be heard from Chicago to Springfield. People were getting multiple tickets in their own neighborhood at intersections that rarely had accidents. The public mobilized and began attending City Council meetings protesting the cameras. In the mind of a greedy politician this seemed like a victim-less fine. It was done all electronically. No police. But the public was outraged and after getting both ears full of screaming City Councilmen and Mayors began taking down the more egregious cameras… ones that clearly had no safety concerns but probably were high volume intersections that made lots of money.

But Chicago was not as fast to take down cameras. They were bankrupt and needed a source of revenue and so they claimed as they always do that “out-of-towners would pay the brunt of the tickets not residents. Most residents don’t have cars. So that allowed Chicago to keep ripping off the public. And so years passed and millions flowed into the city’s bank account.

Chicago and much of Illinois being corrupt, not only didn’t take down cameras… they played a dirty little trick on the public. They reduced the amount of time that a yellow light would last. So instead of maybe 3 seconds they reduced all the red light camera intersections to maybe 2.5 seconds. My time might be inexact but my example is 100% correct. By reducing the time, they could get more tickets. What a sinister thing to do in my opinion. Anyway, this went on for years and more cash flowed into Chicago’s bank account until one day, the local newspaper got wind of the story and went and stop-watched intersections and discovered this outrageous example of government corruption was not a rumor but was true. I have to say a city’s leadership that would allow this to happen regardless of their knowledge should be grounds for impeaching the Mayor. In the end all the money that was collected as of some date in the past was mandated by the Courts to be returned. Thousands of tickets were thrown out and money returned.

Despite all the turmoil and bad feeling towards these cameras they still exist in many cities. And here is the true crime against residents. SINCE 2008 THE GOVERNMENT HAS COLLECTED 1 BILLION DOLLARS IN RED LIGHT REVENUE. YES I SAID 1 BILLION. Imagine what the 1 billion could have done for the economy, for the poor, for needy… Well if you doubt me here is the article. https://www.illinoispolicy.org/reports/illinois-red-light-cameras-have-collected-more-than-1b-from-drivers-since-2008/. please.

Biden is simply an IDIOT!!!

Seems I was prescient when I called Biden an idiot back in 2009. See May 2009 post or read the following:

Chuck Tyson's avatarChuck Tyson's Texas Tea

First I have no idea why Biden ever ran for President as he is simply dilusional about his experience and judgment. He has shown to be an embellisher of facts, events, conversations… you name it. The guy is just a train wreck. So Biden runs for President in 2008 and got zero traction for his candidacy just as he has in past efforts. God only knows how he stays in Congress, as I would think Lancelot Link the chimp detective from the 70’s TV sitcom could beat Biden in a head-to-head contest, yet somehow Biden comes up a winner despite his ineptness. But despite Biden’s serious lack of tact, common-sense… yada yada yada, Obama picks him as VP. UNBELIEVABLE!!!

Anyway, Biden in his usual fashion yesterday blurted out that there was a top secret bunker built on the VP Mansion’s property to protect the VP. Oops!!! Of course, Biden having…

View original post 87 more words

Legal System is confusing and unfair…

I was a plaintiff in a civil suit recently. It took 5 years to prevail. Now they will get 2 years to pay me. So the final dollars will not be paid for 7 years. Utterly Absurd.

Chuck Tyson's avatarChuck Tyson's Texas Tea

I am not even sure where to start as there is so much proof of my premise.  But I will list just a few.

1.) Lawsuits take years to get a verdict regardless of whether civil or criminal

2.) Lawsuits are not about fairness, rather they are about rules or legal precedent.  Most people think the law will protect them because their situation is based on fairness…  WRONG.  Rules just like in Monopoly, are what Judges use to determine outcome of case, not fairness

3.) Juries can nullify the law as in the OJ Simpson case or the Robert Blake case.  Of course we all know OJ was guilty… the evidence lacked only a video tape, but all other evidence fit like a glove, no pun intended.

4.) If you have a legal matter to deal with you NEED a lawyer or the Court will filet your ass.  This is especially…

View original post 326 more words

Do you really know racism when you see it?

There have been 2 events claimed to be racist during Trump’s term thus far.  First we had the Muslim racist allegations against Trump followed now by illegal immigrant racist allegations.

I couldn’t be more sickened by the utter stupidity of the media.  They are either pretending to be stupid and uneducated or they really are stupid and uneducated.

Racism is not related to religion as in the case of Muslims nor is it related to an illegal activity.

Racism is based on race; in the case of the illegal immigrant there is no connection between their race and their illegal activity.  Their race is purely coincidental.  These illegal aliens could be Swedish and my expectation would be Trump would attempt to stem their flow.  It’s the activity of illegally crossing our borders not the race that is the issue.  But the media is too stupid and uneducated to make this distinction.

Heroin has two outcomes… death or death

Heroin in my opinion is the most insidious drug commonly available in major cities across the nation.  It’s popular among the younger crowd (14-24).  I have been told by my children, that getting heroin is easier to buy and cheaper in price than a 6-pack of beer here in Chicago area.  That’s sad.

Heroin has few outcomes.  Sadly one of the outcomes of using heroin without treatment is DEATH.  Yes DEATH.  Death is due to overdosing; and without the drug Narcan when experiencing an overdose death is near as your respiratory and cardiac processes begin to shutdown leading to death quickly.  Further, even when revived one may experience other physical damage.  My son was paralyzed from the waist down due to the way he laid while he overdosed.  After a year he recovered, but carries the mental damage.

Another outcome is destruction of any and all safety nets such as parents, friends, doctors.  And as the safety nets disappear, you lose everything.  This leads to homelessness where often one must beg for money to get their fix… while they inhabit dangerous dwellings.  This can go on for years, but ultimately one accidentally or on purpose overdoses and dies.  They are often revived, only to repeat the cycle until they die.

Unless heroin addicts get treatment, they are going to die.  There’s no real alternative given the potency of present day heroin.  And if the heroin wasn’t enough, now fentanyl laces increasingly more heroin jabs.  Fentanyl is 50-80 times more potent than heroin thus making it even more deadly than heroin

If you know an addict, do whatever is possible to get them into rehab, otherwise death will come calling.  Death is inevitable… mark my words.

Edit